Jap Chae…

Image

So, I love Asian food - especially Korean cuisine. A side dish that I made for the first time last year absolutely blew my mind. I had eaten it once before. A girlfriend of mine made it for me along with some Korean BBQ spareribs. The dish is made with “glass noodles” or Sweet Potato Starch Noodles. You can get them at any Asian grocery store. Another girlfriends of mine made a yummy dish using Kelp Noodles. Why the switch? Kelp noodles are far lower in calories and carbohydrates. Sweet Potato noodles are made with the starch of the sweet potato. If you are doing a Paleo diet, Kelp is the way to go!

Anyway, here is the recipe I used (compliments of Steamy Kitchen).

Korean glass noodles – jap chae/chap chae recipe
Serves 4-6 as part of multicourse meal

1/2 pound dried Korean sweet potato noodles
2 1/2 teaspoons sesame oil, divided
1 tablespoon cooking oil
3/4 cup thinly sliced onions
2 carrots, cut into matchsticks
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
3 stalks green onions, cut into 1″ lengths
1/2 cup mushrooms, thinly sliced (shitake, wood ear)
1/2 lb spinach, washed well and drained
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 teaspoons sugar
1 tablespoon sesame seeds

Fill a large pot with water and boil. When water is boiling, add the noodles and cook for 5 minutes. Immediately drain and rinse with cold water. Drain again and toss with only 1 tsp of the sesame oil. Use kitchen shears to cut noodles into shorter pieces, about 8 inches in length. Set aside.

In bowl, mix soy sauce & sugar together. Add the cooking oil in a wok or large saute pan on high heat and swirl to coat. When the cooking oil is hot but not smoking, fry onions and carrots, until just softened, about 1 minute. Add the garlic, green onions and mushrooms, fry 30 seconds. Then add the spinach, soy sauce, sugar and the noodles. Fry 2-3 minutes until the noodles are cooked through. Turn off heat, toss with sesame seeds and the remaining 1 1/2 tsp of sesame oil.

*rehydrate your mushrooms if you are using dried

I didn’t use the mushrooms because my boyfriend David is allergic, but I found some dried Wood ear mushrooms at Whole Foods that I will use next time I make the dish for myself, which is going to be pretty soon because it’s so yuummmmyyyy!

I also found some delicious skewers (Beef and Chicken Ginger Tariyaki) to go along with the meal. David is not a vegetarian. I don’t think I could have presented the meal without meat… I probably would have gotten the “eye.”

O_o
“Dana…where’s the meat? You said you were making dinner…”

Ha Ha! I am sure he would have been more graceful, but as I was typing I had that scenario play out in my head and it made me chuckle.

The meal was delicious and refreshing. We topped it off with a coconut green tea ice cream and vanilla shortbread cookie crumble trifle.

I am getting hungry just thinking about it!

3 thoughts on “Jap Chae…

    • YEEEEESSSS!! Remember when we were in college and you made dinner. I think Jon and Sherry (maybe) came too. That was so much fun. I think I made the graham cracker pie (graham crackers, whipped cream, and chocolate pudding).

Leave a Reply

