The Familiar things…

As I get comfortable in my bed tonight, I can’t help but feel a tinge of guilt because I am in a familiar bed in a familiar house with all the food and entertainment I need.

Today I spoke with a young lady who said she really missed her mom even though her mom is the one who gave her the “pow pow.” No matter what abuse allegations a parent has against them, their child(ren) will love them. We talked a about God and she helped me get dinner ready.

Later we had a sibling group of 4 come in at around bedtime. They all got a bath, footy pajamas, and some ravioli.

By midnight everyone was in bed. The 2 sets of twins ( we have had 6 sets of twins come to Safe Place during the month of January), 3 toddlers, 2 teens, and 2 preschool aged kids were finally in their beds and sleep.

11 kids….. 11 sweet babies who don’t know when they will see mommy and daddy again. In all, we had 16 kids come through Safe Place today. Please keep them all in your prayers that God’s will is done in their lives.

Many of you know that I’m not a super emotional person, but sometimes it takes all I have in me to keep from crying when talking to these children. It’s unfair that they are living through trauma after trauma and their childhood seems to be spoiled by adult irresponsibilities. I can’t forget that my God is bigger. He already has a plan…

Leave a Reply

