“Pain Throws Your Heart to the Ground…”

This is a John Mayer lyric from his song “The Heart of Life” from Continuum. I was listening to this song today and it definitely caught my attention. Not only because I really enjoy John Mayer’s music,  but because some of the lyrics in this particular song were profound. The chorus says:

Pain throws your heart to the ground
Love turns the whole thing around
No it won’t all go the way it should
But I know the heart of life is good

The staunch reality of life is that there is going to be pain, fear, and disappointments that will come and go throughout our entire lives; however, it is love that conquers all. When we go through the pain and disappointments of life, much of which is caused by the carelessness of others, it does feel like someone has thrown our very being – our heart –  to the ground and trampled over it with hard-soled shoes. It creates bitterness and resentment that feeds on our attitudes like a cancer. That is why we must make a choice to have forgiveness and love in our hearts at all times.

This is probably the most difficult thing for us to do as humans. When our pride is hurt, we tend to remunerate all of the possible comebacks, scenarios, and “what ifs” in our mind for long periods of time. It really only serves the purpose of hardening our hearts toward any kind of reconciliation. It’s difficult, but we have to fight this natural tendency to stonewall. Stonewalling only perpetuates and exaggerates the hurt we feel; it gives pain more prominence and power over our life.

Jesus said ” Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments,” (Matthew 22:36-40). We are called to love God with all that we are and we are called to love our neighbor (everyone else) as we love ourselves. Love encompasses not only good deeds, but orientating our hearts to continue to do, say, and give when we don’t feel like it and when others are unlovable.

This also goes hand in hand with forgiveness. Ephesians 4:32 says “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” Yep. This is a toughie. But regardless, we are still called to have this kind of spirit. I am not one to really hold a grudge, but it is difficult for me to come around after being wounded. God is working on in me in this particular area. I am naturally non-confrontational and sometimes that leads to me having a lack of assertiveness. Instead of saying  – “Hey when you said that, I felt this…” I tend to internalize it and just change my actions toward that person, i.e. retreat. Isolation breeds resentment, more hurt, and a distorted sense of reality. I ain’t got time for that cray!

My choice today…love. Not that infatuous butterfly-like mush that we see in movies. No, the difficult “No matter what” kind of agape love. Love when I don’t want to.  Love when it’s hard. Love when others make me want to punch them in the throat (I would  never do that….in real life). Love when others won’t. Love when others can’t. Why? Because life rarely goes how it should or how I expect, but I know the heart of life is good.

“Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.” 1 Peter 4:8. Truth

Lord, I choose YOU.  I choose LOVE. I choose FORGIVENESS.

Leave a Reply

