On My Way…

I’m getting on a jet plane… this weekend was needed very much.I came home mainly to see my dad because he had surgery recently. My dad and I haven’t always been close.right beside his surgery I received a letter in the mail from him that made me realize just how precious time truly is and it shouldn’t be wasted on feelings, experiences, jobs and the like that DO NOT MATTER. The letter detailed all that needed to be done in the event my dad passed. It took me by surprise even though it was good to have his last will and testament in writing.

The things that don’t matter are the things that don’t bring us close to God or the ones we love. There’s  things we do in this life out of  necessity; however, we do a lot of things out of pure vanity.

What really matters is that we take time to express how you feel to those that are important in your life. Remembering that we are to admonish each other in truth.

This weekend was my opportunity to tell my dad about a lot of things, past, present, and future. I learned something new about my dad. I learned that his love language is words of affirmation. Mine is quality time. It explains why certain things happened when I was younger. I used our time to tell him what was on my heart knowing that this could be the last time I see him face to face.

I have peace now…

One thought on “On My Way…

  1. I totally agree with you Dana. That’s great that you got the opportunity to speak with him and have peace. I only get peace from a situation when I speak my mind and express how I feel. However, in my situation, I don’t want to upset anyone so I just suffer with the burden I carry. I admire you 🙂 Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

