The Race…

Whenever we say “I don’t think that could happen for me…” regarding the promises of God that the Bible describes, we are in fact calling God a LIAR.

Now, I only post this really to rebuke myself because there are about three areas in my life that I feel have reached an impassable wall. Movement in these areas would be a blessing, but I have to be obedient and diligent on my part because God’s promises doesn’t give me license to be lazy.

I think a lot of things that I want and desire are in flux because of me, whether it be lack of discipline or nearsighted doubts and disbelief.

Lord, please help my unbelief and help me to develop motivation to do what is necessary to achieve the desires of my heart.

The statement “Let go and let God.” implies that the wealth of Christianity lies in passivity. God gives us wisdom, discernment, and also opportunities that will help us move ahead. He is not a genie, and we don’t just go to the door and open it to find a box that says “your life is now complete and fixed!” No, there is work to be done!

Some of the things I want keep getting pushed to the back burner because I just don’t want to put in the effort to do them. It is so convicting and sad to type that out! Sometimes I feel as if I don’t have guts to get started with this race. I don’t know what my fear is and I don’t even know what I am using as an excuse.

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.”
– 1 Corinthians 9:24

I need to remember that if I really want to achieve something, God will give me the tools to achieve the goal. There are instances where God just “shows up” and things happen without our involvement; however, in this life God wants us to learn how to WALK by faith. Faith requires action.

“In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.” Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by my deeds.”
-James 2:17-18

God wants to see to whom and or what we will run in times of joy, excitement, distress, and pain. Do we automatically run to him? What do we do to exhibit that we know and love the Lord? I am trying to answer these questions for myself as well.

Lord, I will run to you. Help me to have the desire and confidence to do what is necessary to show you to be truthful. I know you don’t need me to prove anything in me, but I want my life to show your nature in will not only for me but for the world!

2 thoughts on “The Race…

  1. You have just described my thoughts and heart in this post. I pray about this exact same thing just about every morning, asking the Lord to equip me ( energy, drive, confidence, knowledge, wisdom, discernment…) with what is lacking to fulfill the desires of my heart. I’m with you girl! Thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

