Have Your Way, Lord… (Faith, Trust, Confidence)

This song, “Lift My Life” by Unspoken, describes where I am right now.

We talked about FAITH and what that means today in our work devotional. Faith is trust, which can be explained as confidence. When babies are born, they learn to trust adults by whether or not the adults respond to their cries. If that attachment happens successfully, then that those same people most likely have an easier time having Faith in God. It’s the same because when we cry for help to the Lord, he will always answer; however, we have to have confidence that he will answer. And there are times when we are going to have to stumble a little bit to learn in fact that prayers and requests have been answered.

When a parent teaches their child how to swim, they may start by having the child jump into their arms from the side of the pool into the water. At some point the parent will instruct the child to jump in and not catch them on purpose, BUT still be right there in front of them to rescue them if real danger comes. The reality is that during swimming instructions, the child will be taught how to hold their breath under water, how to roll over on their back to float, how to orient themselves up toward the surface, and basic things that could help them survive in the event of an emergency (like falling unexpectedly in the deep end). In order for the child to know that he or she knows these skills they have to be tested, which is why when the parent is confident in the child’s abilities, they will let them jump in the water without catching them.

God allows this for us too. When we are young in our faith, he will show us his sovereignty quickly and in very obvious ways so that we learn that he will be there each and every time we call. If we are diligent during this time we are constantly feeding ourselves with the word, surrounding ourselves with other believers, and learning what the Bible instructs as a righteous life. As we mature, the circumstances will get more challenging and will require more seeking on our part to really see how God is working. These are the experiences that compare to the child jumping in the water without being caught. You think that the safety net has been removed (arms of God or arms of the parent), but in reality the arms are outstretched in front of you, but you need to use the skills that have been given to you in order to swim to those open arms.

Will you actually do it or will you sink to the bottom in panic and feel overtaken by your surroundings?

The past year and a half, and even more so the past 7 months have been that very test for me. It’s been a huge challenge, but through it all I clung to the fact that my heavenly father never leaves me, nor forsakes me, and he gives good gifts, and he answers when we call him. My God, the God of Creation, Elohim, Jehovah Jira, El Shaddai, Adonai, The God that Sees, The LOVER of MY soul. God has given me an incredible life. As much as I pout about some of the circumstances and the choices that I made, I know that this life presents a special opportunity that is an honor to have. I don’t know what is entailed for the rest of my life, but I am excited to find out.

I am on the brink of a new season in my life. A new chapter is beginning! I know for a fact that God has led me right where I am. I am confident that he is guiding my steps. I know for sure that he is giving me direction and evoking the Spirit to convict, rebuke, encourage, strengthen, and teach me every step of the way. As I am writing this I am so overjoyed and overflowing with the passion that is the love for my Jesus! This song evokes that emotion as well. God is too good! This doesn’t mean that my life is just easy right now. It doesn’t mean that there aren’t difficult circumstances. Just the other day I was praying and asked God  “Is this what rock bottom feels like? Because, not only is this hard, but it is painful and I don’t know how to get out.” All I know is that the light overcomes darkness. The light ALWAYS wins, so I won’t be here for long.

In the meantime, I have some wonderful family and friends who are a blessing during this time. Thank God that he doesn’t purpose for us to be alone.

SO….

I lift my life up, lift my life up, give it all in surrender.
I lift my heart up, lift my heart up, you can have it forever. 
All my dreams, all my plans, Lord I leave it in your hands.
I lift my life, lift my life up… Have your way in me!

Leave a Reply

