Creations by “Cupcake”: Quinoa Bean Burgers

quinoa burgers

I don’t know about you, but I don’t like to eat foods with 453 unknown and unpronounceable ingredients….like HEXAMETAPHOSPHATE (that’s cray).  I am trying to eat more vegetarian/vegan these days and when I took a closer look at meat substitutes my mind was completely blown by how much needed to be added together in order for something to taste like meat.  I am on this kick of trying to create my own things with the most natural ingredients possible.

I like veggie burgers and I have always wanted to make my own. I found a recipe that seemed pretty simple which called for Quinoa.  I made a few modifications by adding black beans, barley, cumin, and some other spices so I could make it Danish Style if you get what I mean. This recipe yielded about 14 small burgers. I put most of them in the freezer pre-cooked so I could eat them at my leisure.

When I made them, my friend Cami came over and we devoured them with her spinach bars and homemade salsa. I also made some fresh sweet potato chips (thin sliced sweet potato baked at 450ºF for about 15 minutes or until crispy), and Paleo Ketchup (unsweetened, unsalted tomato paste, balsamic vinegar, sea salt), and some other fixin’s.

yum vegan meal

Leave a Reply

