Social Media Timeout…

I am taking a bit of a break from facebook. I am sure most of you who read my blog probably do not know me on facebook.

 There are definitely times when I feel that I am, shall we say, behind in life. First, let me clarify that in my mind I know this is not true. There is no such thing as being behind in life because everyone is different and has a unique path.  I found myself feeling slightly angry and frustrated with every announcement of good cheer in my newsfeed. Something good happening to other people, NEEVVAAAARRRR! No one can have a good life unless I am having one too darn it! 

So we know that’s not true, right? One, people only post what they want you to know on facebook. Of course the masses will post good and exciting things 99% of the time. Some people post things that will depict something other than extreme delight, but even in those messages I sometimes detect the desire to be validated and coddled.  I think it is important to be able to share news and receive all of the encouragement and excitement from people we are close to, but sometimes the appearance of these things “socially” can cause people to tailspin into a depressive state (this is anecdotal information. I can speak for myself and a few other people that I speak to on a regular basis). Two, how close are we to the people on our friends list anyway? Anyone that we don’t speak to on a regular basis in some form OUTSIDE of facebook should really never have any bearing on our emotional state at any point in time. So what that the person you were friends with in elementary school but never spoke to after you went to middle school except when you found each other on facebook after graduating from college ten years ago is now getting married and got engaged on a trip to Fiji. If it weren’t for facebook,  you wouldn’t know that little tidbit so it really doesn’t matter. I recently told a couple of my friends (in real life) that they need to hurry up and have some pretty major life events because I was tired of being fake happy for everyone else!

Basically, I got to the point where I felt that if I saw one more engagement, new baby, or ” I love him/her so much and they are the best in the world!” kind of post that I would pretty much crawl into my closet and never want to come out. Why? Well, I definitely don’t have news like that to share, and sometimes feeling like you aren’t having a blast at life like everyone else (seems to be having) can be isolating. It also makes you feel like your life doesn’t quite measure up.  This crushes my little heart! My fat brain knows better, which is why it was time to really take action. Additionally, “wastebook” takes up a lot of time. I would log in for maybe two to five minutes at a time several times a day. Then when I got home, I would just browse until bedtime while watching movies.

Self-inflicted misery is stupid.

Whenever I start to feel overwhelmed by the made-up world of facebook, it  means I need to deactivate my account and step away for a bit. Come back to reality! Deactivation is a temporary way to regroup. It’s not permanent because Lord knows I am not trying to start over.  I am starting to have a lot more productivity. I don’t know how long I will be “off the grid,” but I do know it will be long enough so that I can get my wits about me and function like a normal person who has an incredible life. Just because it doesn’t look like the life of someone else (thank God) doesn’t mean that it isn’t good, exciting, or worthy of joy.

So… here’s to living awesomely each day and every day!

 

Leave a Reply

