A Church Home

One of my prayers was that I would find a place of worship fairly soon after moving. I started looking for new churches as soon as I made the decision to move since my spiritual life prior to moving to Florida was drastically different. I wasn’t sure what would be available here. I was looking for something similar to my home church, Calvary Chapel Fort Lauderdale. Now Georgia being part of the “Bible Belt” gave me confidence that there would be no shortage of churches; however, I was looking for a very specific experience. I wanted Non-denominational, contemporary worship, community-minded, mixed ethnicity, big enough for multiple services but small enough to get to know people on a personal level, small groups, and most importantly – BIBLE TEACHING!  I wanted substance, and I wanted to experience more than fluff from the pulpit.

I do believe that for the time being I have found a suitable place to attend church. A Church called TurningPoint has caught my attention. I will go to my third service this coming weekend, and I think I may start their growth track so that I can learn more about their culture. I am looking forward to being part of a small group later this month, and I can’t wait to get involved in some outreach activities. I am glad that at least for the moment, this particular part of my journey seems to have some direction. I have experienced the peace that comes from being part of a good community. It seems when I am being encouraged by those who are around me, I experience a lot of joy and I don’t worry as much about what’s to come.

This is part of the reason of my contentment, despite the issues from my vent yesterday. I know all will be well :).

Leave a Reply

