Night Drive

drivingatnight

Your word is a lamp to guide my feet
    and a light for my path. (Psalm 119:105)

I live in the urban countryside. Yes, that is a ‘thing.’ I live in the metro Atlanta area, but in the outskirts. There are farms here. Lots of trees. Alpacas. Cows. Pigs. Chickens. Rivers. Long stretches of roads with no lights at night. It’s awesome (most days). I can go to the city by taking the commuter express bus at a park and ride not far from my house, or it’s just a 40 minute drive in my car.  When I come home at night sometimes after going to the gym and the stars are already out (short winter days), I stare up at the sky and try to name all of the constellations. It’s been a long time since I could see this much due to the pollution caused by bright lights of the city. I sometimes will linger and listen to the night noise…usually nothing. There are very few cars that pass along the road in front of my neighborhood. It’s far, but close enough to where I need to be.

I am out traveling on the bending and winding back roads a lot at night. Because it’s pretty serene, I also have a lot of time to think. One night, a couple of months ago, I was driving and it was just so dark.  I could only see a few feet ahead of me, even with my bright lights on. Sometimes this is really frustrating, especially when it’s raining. But, I know that if I keep my eye focused on the white line that borders the right side of the road as a guide, I can make sure to keep from disaster. Especially when the oncoming car has their brights on. Averting my eyes to that bright solid line keeps me from panicking. It helps me to travel the road and know how to navigate the bends. On this road of life, God is that white line for me. When the my circumstances come at me with blinding fury, I can avert my eyes to God for direction and calming comfort. When I can’t see what’s coming around the corner with life, I can focus on God to order my steps.

I don’t know what’s next for me on this journey when it comes to love, career, or family. I do know that everything is OK. God has my best interest at heart. I know there are breakthroughs on the horizon. There are challenges ahead, even failures. I know that there is much laughter, some tears… most of all there is strength and revelation.

I’m excited for this road trip. ;o)

Leave a Reply

