Bittersweet, and Still Wonderful…

So many of you know that I am seeking employment. Real Estate turned out to not be my life’s passion. It was, however, a necessary part of my homecoming.

::short segue here::

Last May, I participated in my brokerage’s annual volunteer event called Red Day. My particular market center decided to do a clean up and improvement day at The Bridge of Georgia. This is a private school for children with special needs. Many of the children in the school have Autism. The school has only been open for a short while, so it’s still growing and evolving. We spent the day painting, landscaping, cleaning, and playing with children. It was an awesome day! I inquired about the entrance requirements and financial aid. I took the information back to my mother. Long story short, my nephew JaJuan will be starting at the school on March 7th! I am so excited for him! If my stint in real estate was to only get him access to this school then it was so worth it.

The best part of it all is that students who are in Special Needs classes in the state of Georgia receive a certain amount of money each year from the state that is sent directly from the school. This is called the SB10 Scholarship. That money can be used at public schools and some private schools, including the Bridge of Georgia! Outside of the registration fees, JaJuan’s full tuition is fully covered because of this! Had I never started with Keller Williams Atl Partners in Snellville, I wouldn’t have known about this school because we had looked at private schools before and they were just too expensive. Had I not physically been at the school and talked to the administrators, I wouldn’t have known about SB10. The state has information about this on their website, but it’s not highly advertised that the money is portable because that means the public schools would be underfunded. Thank the Lord for giving me the oppotunity to help JaJuan in this way.

::End Segue::

So, I have been job hunting because I need something full time. This has been an overwhelming process. There’s lots of rejection, but I just see that as protection because if I were to have those jobs, I would have had them. I know God know’s what’s best for me and I have asked that He be the one to author this. I am submitting to His will on this. I know that it’s developing my character and faith in a way that wouldn’t happen if this was easy.

I was really hoping to get an interview with a particular company that I like and respect (I won’t disclose the company – this isn’t a rant or negative mark on them), but today I received a rejection letter with a little something extra:

“Having your completed application…provides us both positive and productive time to learn more about your background.  We have thoroughly reviewed your application and have determined that other candidates’ profiles more closely meet our needs. Therefore, we will not be pursuing your candidacy at this time.

While we are continuing to expand in a number of areas there is not a current opening that matches your experience, apparent abilities, and interests. We will, however, maintain your application on file for future reference.

We appreciate your contacting us and giving us the privilege of knowing about you.  Please accept our best wishes to you for every success in the future.”

The line that I highlighted is what stung the most. It was basically saying – um, don’t apply to any of our other positions, please. The way the process works is you submit your resume and if they believe you may be a good fit, they invite you to complete the application. I had reached the application stage, and at least I feel that they actually read my qualifications and experience for a good evaluation. I don’t feel that I just got rejected through some ATS (Applicant Tracking System). It still doesn’t feel nice, but that’s life. We aren’t a good fit for everything.

I am still trusting God. I am feeling a bit down today about it, but I am still moving forward. I know that there is the perfect position for me that will come when it’s time. The good thing is I have my resume under review and will have it optimized for an ATS, since many companies use this.

Life is good, I am doing well – just a little disappointed today. I do feel like time is running short. The original goal was to be employed full-time by the end of March. I do know that God’s timing is perfect, so it’s not running out for him. My prayer is that God remove this anxiety and surround me with his peace today.He is good!

Philippians 4:4-9
 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God,which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.  Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.
2 thoughts on “Bittersweet, and Still Wonderful…

Leave a Reply

