Perspective of Miracles…

Happy Resurrection Day! I hope and pray that you have done something that warmed your heart on this day we remember the victory of Christ. My mom and I had initially planned to climb Stone Mountain in Stone Mountain Park, but because of the crazy rain the day before, I didn’t think it would be a good idea (the terrain is slippery even if it hasn’t rained in months).

Side Note: Stone Mountain is an iconic landmark in the Metro Atlanta area. It’s actually a solid piece of granite (think of a rock that you get from the lake and multiply the size times a bagillion). The surrounding area has been made into a park that bodes a lot of family attractions and accommodations. There are laser shows in the summer, lots of cool events and sky buckets! In the winter, they make snow and turn it into “Snow Mountain,” complete with tobogganing. You can also climb to the top of the mountain on a trail, and it was our intention to climb to watch the sunrise for Easter.

3632.Stone%20Mountain

stonemountainl

So, no Stone Mountain – it was OK. I decided to serve at Church. I usually serve every Sunday except for second Sunday; however, this day I was looking forward to spending some quality time with my mom since I don’t get to see her every day. Due to the Easter services, the program that I usually serve with was cancelled, so I ended up serving in other areas as needed. Service was amazing, and I am glad that I was able to go and take part of celebrating my Lord and Savior! My mom wanted to see the movie Miracles from Heaven, and I thought that it would be a good day to go (it was nasty, half way drizzling, and overcast). I am so glad we went to see it this afternoon.

Without giving the story away, you should know that the main theme of the movie is “miracles.” HAHA! I guess you could tell that by the title, but it’s so much deeper than that. We need to be mindful and watchful for these miracles. My mom and I left the theater in tears today. I mean ugly face, can’t breathe tears. The movie was a nod from God about our current situation. Right now my mom is living in another town during the week so my nephew has the opportunity to go to a private school. I am looking for work and it seems like doors are closed in my face on a daily basis. We shared tidbits of how God is showing he is working everything out.We described what we believed to be daily miracles. Miracles and winks from God that let us know we are right where he wants us. The expression of these things made us weep.

These weren’t sad tears. They were tears of overwhelming mixed emotions consisting of gratitude, exhaustion, excitement, frustration and joy (hey look – Joy is still showing in 2016…wink!). As we talked about how God has paved the way with events leading up to today, it was affirmation that we are incredibly loved, cherished and honored. The thought that God would think so much of my mom and I to make these puzzle pieces fit together so perfectly is overwhelming. Why us? Why me? Why anyone? People in general are so horrible and hateful, why does God even want anything to do with us?

But God is so rich in mercy, and he loved us so much, that even though we were dead because of our sins, he gave us life when he raised Christ from the dead. (It is only by God’s grace that you have been saved!) For he raised us from the dead along with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ Jesus. So God can point to us in all future ages as examples of the incredible wealth of his grace and kindness toward us, as shown in all he has done for us who are united with Christ Jesus. God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God.  Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it.  For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.
Ephesians 2:4-10 (emphasis mine)

God is rich in mercy. He loves us so much. He gave us life and saved us by his grace. WE ARE HIS MASTERPIECE! Us – one sixth of his creation. Anything that a person would consider a masterpiece would have immense value, maybe even immeasurable. Someone would go through great lengths to protect a masterpiece. Someone would go through great lengths to restore a masterpiece (think of the great lengths of the continuous restoration of the Sistine Chapel). God died. He died for us, and he raised himself from that death to show death that nothing can come in between him and his creation. He did this so that we could have a choice. He DIED so that we could have a choice. And, should we choose him, the floodgates burst open with provision and a path of more than we could even imagine.

Right now, this experience, as difficult and frustrating as it is, is far better than I ever could have imagined. God is good. He is so good to me. I will not lie, nor will I try to give you platitudes about my life right now. It’s unbelievable easy, and it’s the most difficult period I have ever experienced in my life.  It’s easy because I am in a period of waiting and I don’t want for anything. I don’t have any unmet needs. I do have unmet wants and desires that God is using to teach me to be a better steward of all aspects of my life.I have an incredible safety net in my family. I am loved and well kept as I am wrapping things up with my current assignment. I pretty much have a cushy life and lots of flexibility.

This is the most difficult time because for once I don’t really have a next step. I am completely baffled about myself, and uncertain about who I am professionally. I am experiencing a lot of insecurity about my experience, education and goals. If someone were to ask me today to describe where I see myself in five years in the workforce, or even where I would aspire to be, I don’t think that I could answer confidently.  I simply don’t know what I want anymore. I can’t see a vision right now. I feel confused. This is the part that concerns me because God is not the author of confusion. I know that this is spiritual warfare, but I am not sure I am fighting well every single day. This is the area where I am of greatest need of prayer and strengthening in the Lord.

Deep down, I know there is a resolve to this current season that will usher me into the new one. It’s coming. It has to or it would mean God is a liar, and he has already said in his word that he never changes nor does he lie (see Numbers 23:19 and Titus 1:1-3). I want to continue to enjoy this time of rest and reconnection. It has been such a sweet experience, and I feel it would grieve the Lord if I allow my joy to be tarnished because I lack proper perspective.  We have to fight for our joy. Satan wants it to be stolen, lost and clouded by day to day circumstances the normal disappointments of life. God wants us to be able to see the entire forest, not just the group of trees that are directly in front of us. This mean we need to climb a tree so we can see that the forest is at the edge of a beautiful waterfall flowing with promise, replenishment and resources. I need to climb a tree, and quickly!

New things are coming… he is making something new…I just need new perspective, strength and faith…

See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.
Isaiah 43:19

 

 

One thought on “Perspective of Miracles…

  1. […] The joy was that I was given time to experience and be part of the making of someone else’s br…  My family. Everyone’s transition was interlocking. Had I been working full-time I would not have been part of the work God was doing through me (what I asked him to in so many prayers). God didn’t, doesn’t and never will need me to complete any of His plans; however, he CHOOSES to use me to do his will. He gladly allows me to be involved, though I do not deserve the privilege. […]

Leave a Reply

